An Introduction to Chakras


‘What is a chakra?’

A chakra is an energy centre within the body. The term chakra in Sanskrit (an ancient Indo-European language of India) means wheel or disc.

You can visualise each chakra in your body by imagining a wheel of energy. This energy is called Prana and is a vital life force. It keeps us healthy, alive and vibrant.

Chakras are important as they correspond to the main areas of our body. Each one relates to our major organs as well as our emotional and spiritual state of being. It is important for each of our chakras to remain open. If there is a blockage, energy cannot flow and this is when we fall ill.

The mind, body and soul are all connected and it is important to create a balance between them. An example is a sore throat and loss of voice. This can occur when someone feels like they aren’t being heard or if they are being judgemental towards themselves or towards someone else. By recognising the link between these feelings and the ailment and acknowledging both of them, healing can occur much faster.

There are seven chakras in the body. The first three start at the base of the spine. They are more physical in nature.

MulhadharaThe first chakra is the Muladhara – the Root Chakra. It is located at the base of the spine and is responsible for our fight or flight response.

The colour for the Root chakra is Red and the sound is Lam.

When it is open, we feel safe and secure.

When it is blocked we feel dissatisfied and insecure, unmotivated and restless.

SvadhishthanaThe second chakra is Svadhishthana – the Sacral Chakra.

It is located in the sacrum and corresponds to our reproductive organs.

It emotionally governs joy and spirituality along with our creativity. The colour for the Sacral chakra is Orange and the sound is Vam.

When it is blocked, issues with the reproductive system can occur and we can have a low self worth, be over sensitive and blame others.

ManipuraThe third chakra is Manipura – the Solar Plexus Chakra.

It is located in our solar plexus (the area between our navel and breastbone) and is the source of our personal power.

The colour for the Solar Plexus chakra is Yellow and the sounds is Ram.

When it is blocked through fear or anxiety, it can cause digestive problems and hold us back from spiritually moving forward. When it is clear, we have improved self-esteem.

AnahataThe fourth chakra is the link between the physical and the spiritual chakras.

It is called Anahata and it is the heart chakra.

The colour for the Heart chakra is Green and the colour is Yam.

It is our source of love and connection. When it is balanced we have faith and feel compassion and unconditional love. When it is blocked, we feel frustrated and resentful.

VisshudhaThe next three chakras are our spiritual chakras. The fifth one is called Vishuddha and it is located in the neck and throat region.

It is the chakra associated with the example of a sore throat that was mentioned earlier. The colour for our Throat chakra is Blue and the sound is Ham.

It governs communication, thought and our ability to speak the highest truth.

AjnaThe sixth chakra is Ajna – the Third Eye Chakra.

It is located between the eyebrows and is quite often referred to as our third eye.

It is our centre of intuition. If it is balanced we have insight, clarity and spirituality. The colour for the Third Eye chakra is Indigo (I prefer Purple) and the sound is Sham.

If it is blocked we are stubborn, have a lack of commitment and feel unfulfilled. We are more likely to rely too much on others.

SahasraraThe seventh chakra is Sahasrara – the Crown Chakra.

It is located at the crown of the head. It is our connection to enlightenment and our higher self.

The colour for the Crown chakra is Gold and the sounds is Om.

When it is blocked, we feel alienated, intolerant and impatient. When it is open we feel spiritual awareness, peace and enlightenment.

Becoming aware of the connection between illness and each of your chakras can help to identify which chakra is blocked and why you fell ill. A sore throat indicates the fifth chakra where as frequent headaches may mean your sixth chakra is blocked.

Keeping our chakras open and aligned is important for good health.

Kathryn Eggins

Kathryn Eggins is an international speaker, writer, entertainer and artist, who loves colour, her cat, and following the guidance of her soul. Her desire is to inspire you to connect to your soul, take inspired action, and consciously create the life your heart desires.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *